Work on Writing Ideas and Resources

Focus Questions for the 6th August Chat Session

  • What do students write in/on?
  • What do students write about?
  • When do you do WoW? Do you have a separate time for Writer's Workshop?
  • How do you organise WoW?
  • Which websites, resources, apps for writing have been successful for you?

Examples of Work on Writing in action in different classrooms

Progress chart for "Work on Writing"
Progress chart for "Work on Writing"

@qldteacher's Pictures of her organisational charts for Work on Writing http://yfrog.com/h8665enj
Delightful Daily 5 Cafe blog by Laura Komos: Getting the teacher started with work on writing http://delightfuldaily5cafe.blogspot.com/2011/07/getting-teacher-started-with-work-on.html

CUPS.JPGCUPS2.JPG


Blog writing during Work on Writing

Kidblog free blogging platform http://kidblog.org/about.php
Cybrary Man's Student Blogs page http://cybraryman.com/studentblogs.html
Cybrary Man's Class Blogs page http://cybraryman.com/classblogs.html
Integrating Technology in the Primary Classroom by Kathleen Morris: Integrating Blogging into the Curriculum http://primarytech.global2.vic.edu.au/2011/06/06/integrating-blogging-into-the-curriculum/
4K@Richards - kids blogs used during Work on Writing time http://kidblog.org/4krichards/
Using Blogging with The Daily 5
http://www.frugalteacher.com/2012/07/using-blogging-with-daily-5.html

Poetry

Kenn Nesbitt's Poetry for Kids http://www.poetry4kids.com/
Nellie Edge: How to Organize Poetry http://www.nellieedge.com/Organize%20Poetry/organizepoetry.htm

Online Writing Projects, Collaboration between classes

Oracle Think Quest http://www.thinkquest.org/en/
ReadWriteThink http://www.readwritethink.com/about/
Story Jumper http://www.storyjumper.com/
Voki for creating speaking characters http://www.voki.com/
Audioboo to voice record for publishing http://audioboo.fm/
Primary Pad as a kid-friendlier version of google docs http://primarypad.com/
Little Bird Tales http://www.littlebirdtales.com/

Other resources

Free Technology for Teachers: 10 ways to make comics online http://www.freetech4teachers.com/2010/12/10-ways-to-create-comics-online.html
Plasq for creating comics from photos http://plasq.com/products/comiclife/win
Scholastic Story Starters http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/storystarters/storystarter1.htm
Writing Fun by Jenny Eather with Text Type examplars and writing frames http://www.writingfun.com/writingfun2010.html
Cybrary Man's Free Supplies for Teachers http://cybraryman.com/teachertools.html#FreeSupplies
Fastfinga iPhone and iPad app http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/fastfinga/id320090110?mt=8
Teaching Literacy in the Early Years blog by Kelly Jordan:Using Technology in the Literacy Block http://teachingliteracy.global2.vic.edu.au/2011/07/12/using-technology-in-the-literacy-block/
Talking, Drawing, Writing: Lessons for our youngest writers by Martha Horn and Mary Ellen Giacobbe http://www.amazon.com/Talking-Drawing-Writing-Lessons-Youngest/dp/1571104569
Getting Started With Work on Writing